Skip to content

Delhi Election 2020 Results: Live Updates

Arwind Kejriwal to return as Chief Minister, Consolidated a massive lead over its closest rival in Delhi, by racing ahead of BJP & Congress.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal party AAP won 62 of 70 seats in the assembly, leaving BJP with 8 seats and decimating Indian National Congress, which ruled Delhi for 15 years without even opening its tally.

Arvind Kejriwal is likely to take oath as Chief Minister on 16th February 2020 at Ramlila Maidan. Along with Kejriwal, all ministers will take oath on the same day.

AAP retains power

With the announcement of results, AAP to retain control gives a straight electoral setback for the BJP after losing Jharkhand and Maharastra elections last year.

After an acrimonious campaign and with high tension, Delhi recorded a voter turnout of 62.59 percent. The counting of votes took place at 21 centers across the city.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee congratulates Arvind Kejriwal, adding that people have rejected BJP

“Only Development will work, CAA, NRC, and NPR will be rejected.”

While on a massive win, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal asks volunteers not to burst firecrackers during the celebration to prevent Air pollution. “Reducing air pollution was one of the main promises made by AAP in its manifesto and “Guarantee Card.”

Lage Raho Kejriwal

AAP volunteers grooved to the party anthem “Lage Raho Kejriwal.” and agreed to abide by the directions of Kejriwal.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Bhartiya Janta Party won from all the seven Parliamentary constituencies of Delhi.

The primary contest in the 2020 Delhi election was between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party and the Bhartiya Janta Party. In 2015 Delhi assembly elections, Arvind Kejriwal’s led AAP registered a clean sweep by winning 67 of Delhi’s 70 Constituencies.

The New Delhi Assembly seat is located in the ABCD district of Delhi while the New Delhi Assembly seat falls under the New Delhi Parliamentary Constituency.

The 2020 Delhi elections are fourth assembly elections to be held since the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Party’s and their campaigns

BJP’s Poll Campaign saw Prime Minister Narendra Modi address two election rallies while Union Home Minister Amit Shah had multiple public meetings.

Kejriwal had addressed Public Meetings and roadshows across 70 constituencies. For Delhi Assembly elections 2020, AAP tied with Prashant Kishor led I-PAC to lead the campaign for the party.

Predictions Turned Wrong for BJP!

Delhi BJP Chief Manoj Tiwari predicted that all exit polls would be proven wrong on 11th February. All these exit polls will fail, “Save this tweet.”

BJP will form the Delhi Government with 48 seats. “Please don’t blame Electronic Voting Machines then” Tiwari Tweeted.


AAP registers a massive sweep over Delhi elections, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal thanks citizens for their support, Kejriwal is expected to address the party workers and the media later in the day. However, the party workers were seen upbeat and in celebratory mode.